top of page

Suspense & I

For my blog, I decided to have a theme of what I find most interesting in film - the Suspense.

My order of priorities when I want to make a film goes like this:

1. Make it entertaining

2. Have a deeper message

3. Make it unique

of course, these are all subjective in their own way, and often when you apply one of these factors to the project, when you pull off one of them, you end up fulfilling another.

Something utterly unique will almost always be entertaining, and something with a deeper message will easily become unique, because a deeper message can be deeply personal, allowing someone to shares experiences or thoughts that are unique to them.

This order ultimately makes me view intensity as the primary goal, of making something engaging by giving people characters or a situation to latch onto and then care about them as challenges and dangers are thrown at them.

In other media, such as gaming, this might just mean a challenging puzzle, a mystery to solve, a beautiful thing to watch.

My main goal for this class is to learn how to craft an interactive video and make it smooth to use, so the viewer isn't pulled out of the experience by a technical fault, which I often find happens in interactive videos I see online. I want a blend of classic video techniques, and a fully realized story, that is controlled by the viewer. It feels like it could be a new art form, separate from videogames, separate from film - and something immensely difficult to make.

So that's what I'm looking forward to. And dreading...

It's gon' be fun.


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page